How do I kill time in prison?

Answer by Christopher Schuhmacher:

Considering I'm incarcerated for murder, maybe 'kill' is not the best choice of words. However , here is my list of 10 ways to pass time in prison.
 
 
# 10      Sleep- During extended  ock downs and prolonged periods of cell-time, nothing beats a good nap.
 
 
#9       Write Letters – There is no internet or cellphones in prison.Snail Mail is the standard for outside communication.
 
 
#8        Play Chess – During the first few years of my incarceration I played hours and hours of chess to pass time. I've been playing a game with my dad through the mail that 's been going since 2006!
 
 
#7        Read Books – I now have the time to catch up on all of the books I was supposed to read in high school.  I'm currently reading Homer's Odyssey
 
 
#6        Running- The track at San Quentin is hazardous and often times monotonous, but for _ me, there's no better way to relieve stress.
 
 
#5       College Courses- Before prison,I had registered at two different junior colleges. However, it wasn't until I came to prison that I completed my first units that led to me earning my AA degree.
 
 
#4       Watch TV – There's no cable in prison,but some of my favorite TV shows are Globe Trekker, Austin City Limits, and So You Think You Can Dance(don't tell the fellas!)
 
 
#3      Life Skills Classes – Over the past 13 years , I've done quite a bit of introspection through classes like VOEG (VictimOffender Education Group), NVC (Non-violent Communication), and GRIP (Guiding Rage into Power).
 
 
#2      Play Sports – I honestly believe,if I had played more tennis when I was on the streets, I would have had a better chanceof avoiding prison.
 
 
# 1     Answer Quora Questions – Taking part in the Quora community and engaging in the discussion keeps me connected with the world outside these prison walls.

View Answer on Quora

Leave a Reply

